2016-17 Stars of Distinction and Caudill Class Finalists Announced

Posted on Oct 10, 2016

10.03.2016—The Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) and Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) announced the winners of the annual Exhibit of School Architecture competition, which showcases new and renovated Texas schools and celebrates excellence in planning and design of the learning environment, at the organizations’ joint convention in Houston Sept. 24.

Twenty one projects in 18 school districts received 2016 Stars of Distinction for excellence in one or more areas of distinction, which include: community, planning, transformation, design, value and sustainability. They include:

District Project Superintendent Architecture Firm Stars of Distinction
Academy ISD Academy Intermediate School Kevin Sprinkles Claycomb Associates, Architects Design, Value
Corpus Christi ISD Veterans Memorial High School Roland Hernandez Gignac | Architects & PBK Architects Design
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Sadie Harris Woodard Elementary Mark Henry PBK Architects Community, Design, Sustainability
Deer Park ISD Deer Park High School North Campus Victor E. White cre8 Architects Design, Planning, Sustainability, Transformation, Value
Forsan ISD Forsan Elementary Randy S. Johnson Parkhill, Smith & Cooper, Inc. Sustainability
Frisco ISD Career and Technical Education Center Addition Jeremy Lyon Stantec Design, Transformation
Frisco ISD Rick Reedy High School Jeremy Lyon Stantec Sustainability
Gatesville ISD Gatesville Elementary Eric Penrod Huckabee Planning
Harts Bluff ISD Harts Bluff Middle School “The Bridge” Lyle W. DuBus Stantec Community, Planning, Transformation
Houston ISD Bellfort Early Childhood Center Richard A. Carranza Kirksey | Architecture Planning, Transformation
Lewisville ISD Griffin Middle School Kevin Rogers PBK Architects Community, Design, Planning
Midland ISD Ralph Bunche Elementary Rod Schroder WRA Architects Community, Design, Planning
Northwest ISD V.R. Eaton High School Ryder F. Warren Corgan Design, Planning, Sustainability, Transformation
Pasadena ISD Dennis L. Shippey Aquatic Center DeeAnn Powell cre8 Architects Value
Pflugerville ISD Dearing Elementary Alex Torrez Stantec Sustainability
San Antonio ISD Bonham Academy Pedro Martinez Marmon Mok, LLP Design
San Jacinto Community College Maritime Technology and Training Center Brenda Hellyer Texas IBI Group Design, Sustainability, Transformation, Value
Socorro ISD Pebble Hills High School Jose Espinoza Parkhill, Smith & Cooper, Inc. Design
Socorro ISD Purple Heart Elementary Jose Espinoza VLK Architects, Inc. Community, Sustainability, Transformation
Tyler ISD Career & Technology Center Marty L. Crawford Corgan Community, Planning, Transformation
Tyler ISD Moore Middle School & MST Magnet Marty L. Crawford WRA Architects Sustainability


Three projects received at least four stars from the six areas of distinction and were chosen as finalists for the competition’s highest level of recognition, the Caudill Class, which is named after Texas architect William Wayne Caudill (1914–1983), whose progressive concepts continue to influence school design. Those districts and architecture firms include:

  • Deer Park ISD (cre8Architects)
  • San Jacinto College District (Texas-IBI Group)
  • Northwest ISD (Corgan)

The Caudill Class winners will be announced at the 2017 TASA Midwinter Conference in Austin in January.

The Exhibit of School Architecture awards are given at the discretion of a 12-member jury (four school board members, four administrators, two representatives from the Texas Society of Architects and two representatives from the Association for Learning Environments (A4LE). To be eligible for consideration for the 2016 Exhibit of School Architecture, projects had to be newly constructed or renovated public education facilities completed in the past five years.

TASA is the professional association for Texas school administrators, providing networking and professional learning opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. The organization’s mission is to promote, provide, and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.

TASB is an association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve approximately 5.3 million students. TASB’s mission is to promote educational excellence for Texas schoolchildren through advocacy, visionary leadership, and high-quality services to school districts.