09.12.2019 – Thirty-four projects in 27 school districts and three college districts received one or more Stars of Distinction in the 2019-20 Exhibit of School Architecture competition, which showcases new and renovated Texas schools and celebrates excellence in planning and design of the learning environment.

The projects will be on display in the Exhibit of School Architecture at the TASA|TASB Convention, to be held at the Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center in Dallas September 20-22.

The projects that received 2019-20 Stars of Distinction for excellence in one or more areas of distinction (community, planning, school transformation, design, value and sustainability) include:

District Project Superintendent Architecture Firm Stars of Distinction
Alamo Colleges District E.L. Turbon Student Center Mike Flores Pfluger Architects Value
Alief ISD Alief Center for Advanced Careers HD Chambers PBK Design, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Allen ISD Becky Lowery Freshman Center Scott Niven Corgan Design
Athens ISD Athens High School Blake Stiles Claycomb Associates, Architects Community
Austin Community College San Gabriel Campus Richard Rhodes Pfluger Architects Design, Sustainability, Planning
Brock ISD Brock Elementary School Cade Smith WRA Architects Design
Comal ISD Pieper Ranch Middle School Andrew Kim Pfluger Architects Design, Sustainability, Planning, School Transformation
Conroe ISD Grand Oaks High School Curtis Null PBK Value
Coppell ISD Coppell Middle School West Brad Hunt Corgan Sustainability
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Matzke Elementary School Mark Henry PBK Community
Dallas ISD Solar Preparatory School for Girls at James B. Bonham Michael Hinojosa BWA Architects Design, Value, Sustainability, Community, Planning, School Transformation
DeSoto ISD Katherine Johnson Technology Magnet Academy D’Andre Weaver Perkins+Will Sustainability, Planning, School Transformation
Dickinson ISD Kranz Junior High School Carla Voelkel PBK Design, Community
Dimmitt ISD Richardson Elementary School Bryan Davis Parkhill, Smith & Cooper, Inc. Community
Fort Worth ISD I.M. Terrell Academy for STEM and VPA Kent Paredes Scribner Corgan School Transformation
Garland ISD Gilbreath-Reed Career and Technical Center Ricardo López Corgan Community, Planning, School Transformation
Georgetown ISD The Hammerlun Center for Leadership and Learning Fred Brent Huckabee Design, Value, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Godley ISD Godley High School Rich Dear Huckabee Community
Highland Park ISD University Park Elementary School Tom Trigg Stantec Community
Houston ISD High School for Law & Justice Grenita Lathan Page School Transformation
Houston ISD Energy Institute High School Grenita Lathan VLK Architects Design, Value, School Transformation
Judson ISD Escondido North Elementary School Jeanette Ball Stantec Design
Klein ISD Lemm Elementary School Jenny McGown PBK Value
Lone Star College Westway Park Technology Center Stephen C. Head Brown Reynolds Watford Architects Design
Magnolia Montessori for All Magnolia Montessori for All Sara Cotner Page Design
Manor ISD Manor Senior High School Royce Avery Perkins+Will Planning, School Transformation
Manor ISD Lagos Elementary School Royce Avery Stantec Design, Value, Sustainability
Mansfield ISD Dr. Sarah K. Jandrucko Academy for Early Learners Jim Vaszauskas Huckabee Design, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Mesquite ISD Mesquite High School Addition/Renovation David Vroonland WRA Architects School Transformation
Pasadena ISD Pomeroy Elementary School DeeAnn Powell cre8 Architects Design
Rockwall ISD Dr. Gene Burton College & Career Academy John Villarreal Huckabee School Transformation
Round Rock ISD Nature to Neighborhood Studio Steve Flores Pfluger Architects Value, Sustainability, Community, School Transformation
Round Rock ISD Cedar Ridge High School Auditorium Steve Flores Stantec Design, Value
Ysleta ISD Thomas Manor Elementary School Xavier De La Torre GA Architecture Design

The Exhibit of School Architecture awards are given at the discretion of a 12-member jury, which includes: four school board members, four administrators, two representatives from the Texas Society of Architects and two representatives from the Association for Learning Environments (A4LE). To be eligible for consideration for the 2019-20 Exhibit of School Architecture, projects had to be newly constructed or renovated public education facilities completed in the past five years