AUSTIN – The Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) and Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) have announced that 48 projects will be included in the 2020-21 Exhibit of School Architecture. This online exhibit of new and renovated Texas school facilities includes projects from 34 school districts, three colleges, and one regional education service center that were submitted by 18 architectural firms. Eligible projects are newly constructed or renovated public education facilities completed in the past five years and not previously submitted in this annual exhibit.

The Exhibit of School Architecture awards are given at the discretion of a 12-member jury, which includes: four school board members, four school administrators, and four members from the Association for Learning Environments (A4LE) Southern Region.

The juried exhibit awarded Stars of Distinction for Excellence to 25 projects in one or more of the following six areas: design, value, sustainability, community, planning, and school transformation. Those projects include:

District School or Facility Superintendent Architecture Firm Stars of Distinction
Allen ISD Allen STEAM Center* Robin Bullock VLK Architects Design, Value, Sustainability, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Allen ISD Marion Elementary School Robin Bullock Corgan
Argyle ISD Argyle West Elementary School Telena Wright Corgan
Austin ISD Menchaca Elementary School* Stephanie Elizalde LPA Planning
Belton ISD Charter Oak Elementary School Matt Smith O’Connell Robertson
Boerne ISD Dr. Ferdinand L. Herff Elementary School Thomas Price Pfluger Architects
Boerne ISD Van Raub Elementary School Thomas Price LPA
Clear Creek ISD Clear Lake High School Greg Smith PBK
College of the Mainland College of the Mainland Student Center Warren Nichols (President) PBK
Comal ISD Danville Middle School* Andrew Kim O’Connell Robertson Planning
Coppell ISD Canyon Ranch Elementary School Brad Hunt Corgan
Crowley ISD June Davis Elementary School Michael McFarland VLK Architects
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Leonard Brautigam Center* Mark Henry PBK Planning, School Transformation
Dallas ISD Woodrow Wilson High School* Michael Hinojosa BRW Architects Community, Planning, School Transformation
East Central ISD East Central High School Performing Arts Center* Roland Toscano LPA Planning, School Transformation
East Central ISD Tradition Elementary School Roland Toscano LPA
El Paso Community College Architectural Design Building William Serrata (President) Alvidrez Architecture Inc.
ESC Region 10 ESC Region 10* Gordon Taylor (Exec Dir) VLK Architects School Transformation
Fort Bend ISD James Reese Career and Technical Center* Charles Dupre Stantec Design, Value, Community, Planning
Fredericksburg ISD Fredericksburg High School Additions & Renovations* Jeffrey Brasher Pfluger Architects Value
Galena Park ISD Cloverleaf Elementary School John Moore IBI Group, Inc.
Galena Park ISD Galena Park Elementary School* John Moore PBK Community
Georgetown ISD Tippit Middle School* Fred Brent Huckabee Design, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Grapevine-Colleyville ISD Cannon Elementary School* Robin Ryan Huckabee School Transformation
Hays CISD Johnson High School Eric Wright Stantec
Highland Park ISD MAPS at Highland Park High School* Thomas Trigg Stantec Planning
Houston ISD James Madison High School Grenita Lathan Huitt-Zollars
Houston ISD Northside High School Addition and Renovations* Grenita Lathan IBI Group, Inc. Community, Planning
Houston ISD Sam Houston MSTC High School* Grenita Lathan Stantec Value, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Jacksonville ISD Tomato Bowl* Chad Kelly Claycomb Associates, Architects Community
Lubbock-Cooper ISD East Elementary School* Keith Bryant Parkhill, Smith & Cooper, Inc School Transformation
Mesquite ISD John Horn High School, Commons Addition David Vroonland WRA Architects
Mesquite ISD Professional Development Center David Vroonland WRA Architects
Northwest ISD Byron Nelson High School Warren Ryder Glenn|Partners
Northwest ISD Lance Thompson Elementary School* Warren Ryder Huckabee Design, Value, Sustainability, Planning, School Transformation
Port Arthur ISD Sam Houston Elementary School Mark Porterie HarrisonKornberg Architects
Princeton ISD Dorothy Lowe Elementary School Philip Anthony Claycomb Associates, Architects
Princeton ISD Southard Middle School Philip Anthony Claycomb Associates, Architects
Richardson ISD Berkner High School STEM Exploration Center* Jeannie Stone Perkins and Will Value, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Richardson ISD JJ Pearce High School Jeannie Stone Glenn|Partners
San Marcos CISD Rodriguez Elementary School* Michael Cardona Perkins and Will Design, Value
Santa Fe ISD Barnett Elementary School* Leigh Wall cre8 Design, Community
Sheldon ISD Sheldon Lake Elementary School* King Davis Stantec Design
Sunnyvale ISD Sunnyvale Intermediate School* Doug Williams WRA Architects Planning, School Transformation
Temple ISD Thornton Elementary School* Bobby Ott Stantec Value, Sustainability
Texas State Technical College Texas State Technical College‎* Mike Reeser (Chancellor) PBK Community
United ISD J.B. Alexander High School 9th Grade Center Roberto Santos Pfluger Architects
Ysleta ISD Bel Air High School Xavier De La Torre Alvidrez Architecture Inc.

The Exhibit of School Architecture is part of the 2020 TASA|TASB Convention, which will be conducted virtually September 30-October 2.

TASA is the professional association for Texas school superintendents and other administrators. The mission of the organization, which focuses on professional learning, advocacy and member engagement, is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.

TASB is an association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve approximately 5.3 million students. TASB’s mission is to promote educational excellence for Texas schoolchildren through advocacy, visionary leadership, and high-quality services to school districts.