09.18.2018 —The Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) and Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) have announced the winners of the annual Exhibit of School Architecture competition, which showcases new and renovated Texas schools and celebrates excellence in planning and design of the learning environment. The exhibit will be a feature at the organizations’ joint convention in Austin September 28-30, 2018.

Twenty-seven projects in 26 school districts received 2018 Stars of Distinction for excellence in one or more areas of distinction, which include: community, planning, transformation, design, value and sustainability. They include:

District Project Superintendent Architecture Firm Stars of Distinction
Alvin ISD Alvin CTE: JB Hensler College and Career Academy Buck Gilcrease PBK Community, School Transformation
Arlington ISD Dan Dipert Career + Technical Center Marcelo Cavazos VLK Architects Design, Value, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Boerne ISD Fabra Elementary School Thomas Price LPA, Inc. School Transformation
Bryan ISD Sul Ross Elementary School Additions & Renovations Christie Whitbeck Stantec Design, Planning
Corsicana ISD Corsicana Middle School Diane Frost Stantec Community
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Educational Village Mark Henry IBI Group Community, School Transformation
Dallas ISD Personalized Learning at Dallas ISD Michael Hinojosa HKS, Inc. Community, School Transformation
Del Valle ISD Del Valle High School Athletic Complex Kelly Crook Stantec School Transformation
Denton ISD Rodriguez Middle School Jamie Wilson Corgan Sustainability, Planning
Fort Bend ISD James Patterson Elementary School Charles E. Dupre Huckabee School Transformation
Fort Worth ISD Van Zandt-Guinn Elementary School Kent Paredes Scribner Perkins+Will Planning
Georgetown ISD Annie Purl Elementary School Fred Brent Huckabee Community, Planning, School Transformation
Georgetown ISD George Wagner Middle School Fred Brent Huckabee Design, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Grand Prairie ISD Grand Prairie High School Susan Simpson Hull Corgan Community, Planning, School Transformation
Houston Community College West Houston Institute Cesar Maldonado (Chancellor) HarrisonKornberg Architects/PBK Design
Houston ISD Milby High School Grenita Lathan Kirksey Architecture Design, Value, Sustainability, Community, Planning, School Transformation
Irving ISD Elise Walker Outdoor Learning Center Jose L. Parra Stantec Value, Sustainability, Community
Katy ISD Katy ISD Education Village Lance Hindt PBK Community, School Transformation
Kaufman ISD Kaufman High School Lori Blaylock Huckabee School Transformation
Keller ISD Keller Center for Advanced Learning Rick Westfall Corgan Community, Planning, School Transformation
Manor ISD Manor New Tech Middle School Royce Avery Stantec Design, Value, Community, Planning, School Transformation
New Caney ISD Infinity Early College High School Kenn Franklin Stantec School Transformation
North East ISD Nimitz Middle School Brian G. Gottardy LPA, Inc. Community
San Antonio ISD Highlands High School Pedro Martinez Pfluger Architects School Transformation
Southwest ISD Southwest Legacy High School Lloyd Verstuyft Pfluger Architects Community, Planning
Texas City ISD Industrial Trades Center Rodney Cavness IBI Group Community, School Transformation
Van ISD J. E. Rhodes Elementary School Don Dunn Harris Craig Architects, Inc. Community

Four projects received at least four stars from the six areas of distinction and were chosen as finalists for the competition’s highest level of recognition, the Caudill Class, which is named after Texas architect William Wayne Caudill (1914–1983), whose progressive concepts continue to influence school design. Those districts and architecture firms include:

  • Arlington ISD (VLK Architects)
  • Georgetown ISD (Huckabee)
  • Houston ISD (Kirksey Architecture)
  • Manor ISD (Stantec)

The Caudill Class winners will be announced at the 2019 TASA Midwinter Conference in Austin in January.

The Exhibit of School Architecture awards are given at the discretion of a 12-member jury, which includes: four school board members, four administrators, two representatives from the Texas Society of Architects and two representatives from the Association for Learning Environments (A4LE). To be eligible for consideration for the 2018 Exhibit of School Architecture, projects had to be newly constructed or renovated public education facilities completed in the past five years.

TASA is the professional association for Texas school administrators, providing networking and professional learning opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. The organization’s mission is to promote, provide, and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.

TASB is an association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve approximately 5.3 million students. TASB’s mission is to promote educational excellence for Texas schoolchildren through advocacy, visionary leadership, and high-quality services to school districts.