AUSTIN – The Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA) and Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) have announced that 46 projects will be included in the 2021-22 Exhibit of School Architecture. This online exhibit of new and renovated Texas school facilities includes projects from 33 school districts, and three colleges were submitted by 18 architectural firms and can be found at Eligible projects are newly constructed or renovated public education facilities completed in the past five years and not previously submitted in this annual exhibit.

The Exhibit of School Architecture awards are given at the discretion of a 12-member jury, which includes: four school board members, four school administrators, and four members from the Association for Learning Environments (A4LE) Southern Region. The juried exhibit awarded Stars of Distinction for Excellence to 22 projects in one or more of the following six areas: design, value, innovation, community, planning, and school transformation.

The TASA/TASB Exhibit of School Architecture in collaboration with the A4LE- Southern Region Foundation showcases the following 46 projects as a part of the 2021 TASA|TASB Convention, which will be conducted in Dallas September 24-26:

District School or Facility Superintendent Submitting Firm Name Stars of Distinction
Alamo Heights ISD Alamo Heights High School Commons Dana Bashara LPA Planning
Alamo Heights ISD Alamo Heights Junior Stem School Dana Bashara LPA
Alamo Heights ISD Cambridge Elementary School Dana Bashara LPA
Alief ISD Talent Development Center HD Chambers GPD Group
Alvin ISD Jackie Doucet Caffey Junior High School Carol Nelson Stantec
Alvin ISD Sanchez Elementary School Carol Nelson GPD Group
Austin ISD Doss Elementary School Stephanie S. Elizalde Stantec Design, Innovation, Planning, Transformation
Austin ISD Govalle Elementary School Stephanie S. Elizalde PBK Community
Austin ISD John C. Blazier Intermediate School Stephanie S. Elizalde BLGY Architecture
Austin ISD Norman-Sims Elementary School Stephanie S. Elizalde Kirksey Architecture
Bay City ISD Bay City Junior High School Marshall Scott Claycomb Associates, Architects
Castleberry ISD Irma Marsh Middle School John Ramos WRA Architects
Celina ISD Celina Bobcats Athletic Complex Tom Maglisceau Claycomb Associates, Architects
Cleburne ISD Cleburne High School Kyle G. Heath Corgan Community, Planning, Transformation
Cleveland ISD Cottonwood Elementary School Chris Trotter Claycomb Associates, Architects
College of the Mainland College of the Mainland STEAM Warren Nichols (President) PBK
Community ISD Community High School Tonya Knowlton WRA Architects Design, Community
Crowley ISD Bill R. Johnson CTE Center Michael McFarland VLK Architects Design, Community
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Harold Rowe Middle School Mark Henry PBK Community, Planning
Deer Park ISD Carpenter Elementary School Stephen Harrell cre8 Architects
Dripping Springs ISD Dripping Springs High School Holly Morris Kuentz Corgan
Houston ISD Barbara Jordan High School for Careers Grenita Lathan Corgan Transformation
Houston ISD Lamar High School Grenita Lathan Perkins&Will Design, Value, Innovation
Houston ISD Scarborough, Braeburn, Mitchell & Kolter Elementaries Grenita Lathan Pfluger Architects Value
Humble ISD Centennial Elementary School Elizabeth Fagen Joiner Architects, Inc. Design, Innovation, Planning, Transformation
Katy ISD Gerald D. Young Agricultural Sciences Center Kenneth Gregorski VLK Architects Design, Value, Innovation, Community, Transformation
Katy ISD Jordan High School and Adams Junior High School Kenneth Gregorski PBK Value, Community, Planning
Klein ISD Fox Elementary School Jenny McGown IBI Group, Inc.
Lancaster ISD Elsie Robertson Middle School Katrise Lee-Perera WRA Architects Transformation
Lewisville ISD Technology, Exploration & Career Center West Kevin Rogers Stantec Planning
Little Elm ISD Walker Middle School Daniel Gallagher Huckabee
Midlothian ISD J.R. Irvin Elementary School Lane Ledbetter Huckabee
North East ISD LEE High School Additions & Renovations Sean Maika Pfluger Architects Value, Innovation, Planning
Pasadena ISD Red Bluff Elementary School DeeAnn Powell cre8 Architects
Port Arthur ISD Port Acres Elementary School Mark Porterie BRW Architects
Port Arthur ISD Tyrrell Elementary School Mark Porterie Claycomb Associates, Architects
Round Rock ISD Wunderland at Deep Wood Elementary Steve Flores Pfluger Architects Value, Innovation, Community, Planning, Transformation
Royse City ISD Bobby Summers Middle School Kevin Worthy VLK Architects
San Jacinto College District Lyondell Basell Center for Petrochemical, Energy, & Technology Brenda Hellyer (Chancellor) IBI Group, Inc. Planning
Santa Fe ISD Santa Fe High School Fine Arts Addition Leigh Wall cre8 Architects Innovation, Planning
Sheldon ISD C.E. King High School King Davis Huckabee Design, Innovation, Community, Planning, Transformation
Sherman ISD Sherman High School David Hicks VLK Architects
Spring ISD Westfield 9th Grade Center, in association with DLR Group Rodney Watson Pfluger Architects Transformation
Sunnyvale ISD Sunnyvale High School Addition/Renovation Doug Williams WRA Architects
Sweeny ISD Chevron–Phillips Chemical CTE Center Tory Hill Stantec Community
Texas State Technical College System Abilene Industrial Technology Center Mike Reeser (Chancellor) Parkhill, Inc.

TASA is the professional association for Texas school superintendents and other administrators. The mission of the organization, which focuses on professional learning, advocacy and member engagement, is to promote, provide and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.

TASB is an association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve approximately 5.3 million students. TASB’s mission is to promote educational excellence for Texas schoolchildren through advocacy, visionary leadership, and high-quality services to school districts.