TASA and Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) have announced that 55 projects will be included in the 2022-23 Exhibit of School Architecture. This exhibit of new and renovated Texas school facilities includes projects from 36 school districts and two colleges that were submitted by 16 architectural firms. Eligible projects are newly constructed or renovated public education facilities completed in the past five years and not previously submitted in this annual exhibit.

The Exhibit of School Architecture awards are given at the discretion of a 12-member jury, which includes: four school board members, four school administrators, and four members from the Association for Learning Environments (A4LE) Southern Region. The juried exhibit awarded Stars of Distinction for Excellence to 34 projects in one or more of the following six areas: design, value, innovation, community, planning, and school transformation.

The TASA/TASB Exhibit of School Architecture, in collaboration with the A4LE – Southern Region Foundation, will showcase the following 55 projects as a part of the 2022 TASA|TASB Convention, which will be conducted in San Antonio September 23-25. The projects will also soon be featured in the online exhibit.

District Superintendent School or Facility Architecture Firm Design Value Innovation Community Planning Transformation
Abilene ISD David Young Dyess Elementary School Parkhill
Alamo Heights ISD Dana Bashara Alamo Heights High School LPA, Inc
Alamo Heights ISD Dana Bashara Alamo Heights Natatorium LPA, Inc
Aledo ISD Susan K. Bohn Annetta Elementary School PBK
Amarillo ISD Doug Loomis AmTech Career Academy Corgan
Arlington ISD Marcelo Cavazos CVPA and Athletics Center HKS, Inc.
Austin Community College Richard Rhodes (Chancellor) Austin Community College Highland Phase II Perkins&Will
Austin ISD Anthony Mays Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders O’Connell Robertson
Austin ISD Anthony Mays Casis Elementary School LPA, Inc
Austin ISD Anthony Mays Norman-Sims Elementary School Kirksey Architecture
Austin ISD Anthony Mays Sánchez Elementary School McKinney York Architects
Barbers Hill ISD Greg Poole Leadership Support Center PBK
Bay City ISD Dwight McHazlett Tenie Holmes Elementary Claycomb Associates, Architects
Birdville ISD Gayle Stinson Haltom Middle School PBK
Blue Ridge ISD Matt Kimball Blue Ridge Elementary School WRA Architects
Brazosport ISD Danny Massey Brazoswood CTE Center VLK Architects, Inc.
Burleson ISD Bret Jimerson Game Development Design School Pfluger Architects, Inc.
Caldwell ISD James Barton Caldwell Elementary School Pre-K through 3rd Grade Addition and Renovation Parkhill
Collin College/Allen ISD Robin Bullock Collin Technical Center Perkins&Will
Comal ISD Mandy Epley Pieper High School Pfluger Architects, Inc.
Conroe ISD Curtis Null Stockton Junior High School PBK
Dallas ISD Stephanie S. Elizalde Jill Stone Elementary School at Vickery Meadow Huckabee
Dallas ISD Stephanie S. Elizalde Nathaniel Hawthorne Elementary School Glenn | Partners
Decatur ISD Chad Jones STEM Academy at Enis Elementary School Corgan
Denton ISD Jamie Wilson Strickland Middle School Additions and Renovations VLK Architects, Inc.
Dripping Springs ISD Holly Morris-Kuentz Cypress Springs Elementary School Corgan
Eustace ISD Julia McMains Eustace High School Claycomb Associates, Architects
Fort Worth ISD Kent Scribner Amon Carter High School Glenn | Partners
Fort Worth ISD Kent Scribner Eastern Hills High School Additions and Renovations VLK Architects, Inc.
Fort Worth ISD Kent Scribner Southwest High School Additions and Renovations Parkhill
Friona ISD Jimmy Burns Friona Primary School Parkhill
Gatesville ISD Barrett Pollard Gatesville High School Addition/Renovation WRA Architects
Goose Creek CISD Randal O’Brien Stuart Career Tech High School Pfluger Architects, Inc.
Hillsboro ISD Vicki Adams Hillsboro Elementary School WRA Architects
Humble ISD Elizabeth Fagen Lakeland Elementary School PBK
Hutto ISD Celina Estrada Thomas Hutto 9th Grade Center Pfluger Architects, Inc.
Hutto ISD Celina Estrada Thomas Nadine Johnson Elementary School Renovations VLK Architects, Inc.
Katy ISD Ken Gregorski Welch Outdoor Learning Center Stantec
Keller ISD Rick Westfall Florence Elementary School Replacement VLK Architects, Inc.
La Grange ISD Andy McHazlett La Grange Elementary Claycomb Associates, Architects
Lubbock ISD Kathy Rollo Anita Carmona-Harrison Elementary School Parkhill
Lubbock-Cooper ISD Keith Bryant Lubbock-Cooper Middle School Parkhill
Mansfield ISD Kimberly Cantu Alma Martinez Intermediate School Huckabee
Melissa ISD Keith Murphy Willow Wood Elementary School Perkins&Will
Mesquite ISD Ángel Rivera Vanguard High School WRA Architects
Richardson ISD Tabitha Branum Lake Highlands High School HKS, Inc.
Round Rock ISD Hafedh Azaiez Redbud Elementary School PBK
San Antonio ISD Jaime Aquino Brackenridge High School Stantec
San Marcos CISD Michael Cardona San Marcos High School CTE Addition Perkins&Will
Spring Branch ISD Jennifer Blaine Hunters Creek Elementary School Pfluger Architects, Inc.
Spring Branch ISD Jennifer Blaine Landrum Middle School Replacement Stantec
Spring ISD Lupita Hinojosa Roberson STEAM Middle School Huckabee
Tyler ISD Marty Crawford Tyler High School Stantec
Tyler ISD Marty Crawford Tyler Legacy High School Corgan
Van Vleck ISD John O’Brien Van Vleck ISD 2017 Bond Program PBK